Cross the border!

So we decided to make a family trip to Spokane, WA from our home in BC for a few days. My wife has a not-so-secret love affair with someone named Fred Meyer, and I’m always in for going somewhere new. Now we had to do a bunch of last minute plan changes (details messy and unimportant) but managed to salvage things and here we are in the USA!

Our first stop was the Walmart in Coleville to get much of the supplies that we couldn’t bring across the border (but they can import and export, go figure). I had heard that there was a price difference when crossing the border, but I didn’t realize how much until I saw it for myself! A lot of food items were easily half the price of what we would pay up here (dairy especially).  It’s really noticeable on how much were ripped off on organic foods. A bag of baby carrots was $1.44, while a same sized bag of organic baby carrots is $1.88. We’d easily pay 50% more or more because it has an “organic” label on it in Canada! I’d be buying organic all the time if I had these prices to shop from!

Despite the bounty of cheap (or what I considered cheap) food, I also noticed a disproportionately large amount of obese people walking around the store. But, after seeing how processed food is even cheaper than fresh, I can see the trap.

Buying cheap now just means you’ll pay for it later on.

 

 

 

 

And how the hell do you guys afford fast food down here? You’re paying the same amount at a Subway as we are!?!?!?

Leave a comment